From my thoughts to yours…

Tricia’s weblog of life, love and just about everything else

“I Am” April 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — tcedwards @ 5:03 pm

I am reading another book that we recently bought at a Catalyst Conference that we went to at Willowcreek. It is called “The Christian Atheist”. So far I can hardly put it down. It so describes so many of us and it is certainly challenging me to not just believe in God but to live like it more than ever!

The one part of this book that has just made a huge impact on me so far (not to mention a ton of other parts that have done the same : ) is in the chapter called….”When You Believe in God but Don’t Really Know Him”.  Psalm 9:10 is referenced…”Those who know your name will trust in you.”

Pastor Craig Groeschel asks the question….”What do you call God?” The way you address him or refer to him just might reveal the depth of your intimacy. Or lack of it.

I have grown up calling God…God, Jesus, Lord (and a myriad of other names). In the book it talks about how we know when people REALLY know us. When we get those calls from a credit company wanting us to open up an account they may mis-pronounce your name or call you Mrs. So and So. You know right away that they don’t know you or anything about you.  There are many people in my life that call me different things. There are people who call me Mrs. Tricia because they are my students at school and they know me a little. There are also people who call me Tricia because they are my friends. There are people who call me Trix, sister momma girlfriend, chicka, etc. because they may be my very close friends or my sisters. Then…there is my husband who will call me baby or some other endearing name that I love to hear and my children who call me mommy or mom (which I don’t like as much as mommy).

Just in the last 10 or 15 years have started to calling God, my FATHER and truly began to understand what that means. I think that in the past and when I grew up (in the church) I thought that was kind of corny for some reason. (Just being honest and transparent) Wow! Was I wrong. I believe what you call God really kind of tells the history of what your relationship has been with Him.

There is a sentence in this chapter that just sums it up for me…..”If you know God, you are likely to be far more specific with him, and the words you use will reflect your accurate understanding of Him.” I love that!!!! There have been times in my life that I have called Him my rock because He was strong when the winds of trouble came blowing….there were other times when I called Him my Comforter because He comforted me through some difficult moments, other times when I called Him my healer because he healed the broken heart when I was hurt, and yet other times when I’ve called Him my Provider because when it seemed like all hope was gone He came through and provided everything I needed!

He truly is my everything but most of all He is my FATHER! What do you call Him?

 

Leave a Reply

