From my thoughts to yours…

Tricia’s weblog of life, love and just about everything else

Quit Running HIS Errands! March 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — tcedwards @ 4:42 pm

Acts 17:24-29 (The Message)

“The God who made the world and everything in it, this Master of sky and land, doesn’t live in custom-made shrines or need the human race to run errands for him, as if he couldn’t take care of himself. He makes the creatures; the creatures don’t make him. Starting from scratch, he made the entire human race and made the earth hospitable, with plenty of time and space for living so we could seek after God, and not just grope around in the dark but actually find him. He doesn’t play hide-and-seek with us. He’s not remote; he’s near. We live and move in him, can’t get away from him! One of your poets said it well: ‘We’re the God-created.’ Well, if we are the God-created, it doesn’t make a lot of sense to think we could hire a sculptor to chisel a god out of stone for us, does it?

I just love how The Message translation depicts this scripture! I believe it spoke to me today because I think of how many times we (myself included) run around trying to do God’s work. Just getting our busy little hands all up in His stuff. If we don’t do this or do that then He’s not capable? I know that’s not what we say or even think, but how we act. Many times I have asked myself…Is God not capable? Really? Is He not capable of working this out or taking care of this situation? Yet, we get so busy trying to do His work. I believe this is where chaos comes in.

He is there! He is our refuge in time of trouble! He loves to work in our lives, our families, our churches if we just let Him!

No need to grope around…He DOESN’T play hide and go seek with us. He DOESN’T play games! He’s just right there all the time waiting patiently for us to take our hands off so He can put His on!!!!

In Him we live, and move, and have our being!

Yesterday in church we sang that song….”Still”! As I was singing…His OVERWHELMING spirit just flooded my soul….the lyrics below say it all….

Hide me now under your wings
Cover me within your mighty hand

When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with you above the storm
Father you are king over the flood
I will be still and know you are God

Find rest my soul in Christ alone
Know his power in quietness and trust


 

Leave a Reply

